Pizza!! Pizza!! Pizza!!

Thinking of catchy headings is SO hard guys, for real. Fuck Flip.

I’ve really been thinking hard about whether or not to use swear words on my blog. I don’t want readers to be offended, but then again I swear quite a bit in my everyday life :-/ and this is my blog, my space to be me… so we’ll see how it goes, lemme know how you feel about it?

I made this pizza after our chicken curry failed on Sunday –sorreee Claud. I searched through a lot of recipes trying to find the easiest method to make the pizza base. I found a lot of varieties but it all seemed like I would end up with more dough on my hands than in the bowl being an amateur at baking n all. I will try a more intricate recipe in the future, promise.

This pizza base is SO easy, I can’t say it tastes great, nor can I say it tastes bad but at least it’s a solid base for any delicious topping you want to add.

For the base:

  • 1 & 1/3 cups of flour
  • 2 tablespoons corn flour
  • ½ teaspoon salt
  • 1/3 cup of water
  • A little yeast – I used the very tip of a teaspoon

You then mix and shape the dough into a little ball, cover in plastic wrap and leave at room temperature for a few hours. I probably left it for about 4 hours. It was supposed to double in size… I can’t say this happened to mine :-/

I floured my surface for the rolling out of the dough. I kneaded it for about 5 minutes before rolling. I don’t think it’s supposed to be that hard to roll out pizza dough? Maybe I didn’t knead it enough? Anyway, I used some elbow grease and eventually got it big enough for about a large sized pizza.

Toppings:

I added grated garlic and chilli to some olive oil and brushed the pizza base.

Caramelized onions that I had in the fridge from boerewors we had the Friday.

Brie cheese

Pepperdews

The pizza baked for about 20 mins at 200 degrees Celsius.

Every oven is different so watch the pizza every now and then to make sure it’s not burning.

It turned out really good! Great success! The toppings really worked well together, I added salt, pepper and some rocket before serving.

What are your favourite topping combinations?

Homemade Pizza recipe

4 thoughts on “Pizza!! Pizza!! Pizza!!

  1. Great post! Pizza is defintely one of my favourite comfort foods (although I only eat it with a fork and knife). My favourite topping is cheese, all kinds! All you need is a base, a really good sauce, topped with grated cheddar, mozzarella and feta and a drizzle of olive oil.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. hmmm you makin me hungry!!! Eating pizza with a knife and fork is all good to me as long as you get the deliciousness in ya belly 🙂 thanks for the follow x

      Like

Leave a comment