Thai Green Curry

We’ve been making this for quite a while but I keep forgetting to take pictures (current picture is taken in my work lunchbox with a complimentary plastic fork), it is super easy and a taste bomb! You can use chicken, beef, seafood or go veggie – anything you like. Use any vegetables you want.

I know some like using store-bought Thai curry paste – I haven’t found a really good brand to use – let me know if you find a punchy ready made paste?

My version goes a li’l something like this:

Ingredients

  • 4 chicken breasts
  • 1 onion
  • 1 thumb-sized chunk of ginger
  • 2 garlic cloves
  • 2 green chillies
  • 1 handful coriander
  • 1 handful basil
  • 1 lemongrass stalk
  • 1 cup green beans
  • ½ head of broccoli
  • ½ head of cauliflower
  • 1 tin coconut cream
  • 1 cup chicken stock
  • 2 teaspoons fish sauce
  • Juice of ½ lime – optional (I know limes a crazy expensive OMW!)

Method

Cut the breasts into bite-sized pieces and season with salt and pepper. Fry in a bit of oil until almost cooked through – remove from the pan and set aside.

Chop up the onion, garlic, ginger, chillies, coriander, basil and bash the lemongrass stalk (doing this releases its flavour)

The whole process is pretty fast so I suggest that your green beans, cauliflower and broccoli are all chopped and prepped to be added. Also, open the tin of coconut cream and prepare the chicken stock. I’ve learned that prepping makes everything go much more smoothly; instead of flapping around the kitchen looking for things as you go along.

Add another dash of oil to the pan, fry the onion, garlic, ginger, chillies, coriander, basil and lemongrass stalk; until fragrant – about 2 minutes. Add the cooked chicken and mix.

Next in is the coconut cream and chicken stock, fish sauce, lime juice as well as the remaining veggies, reduce the mixture on a medium-high heat, stirring occasionally.

After about 8 – 10 minutes reduce the heat and simmer. I like my veggies a bit crunchy so I simmer until it’s the texture I prefer.

Taste the seasoning adding salt if necessary – and voila! Ready to serve!

I served mine with Jasmine rice – follow the packet instructions 🙂

Thai Green Curry Recipe

2 thoughts on “Thai Green Curry

Leave a comment