For the chilli lovers…

Finally made the time to POST!!! I’m feeling quite chuffed about it

This recipe is basically Nigella’s, however, I adapted it slightly. I love her cooking style;  its simple and has you drooling just watching her.

I have a few more recipes from her collection that I will copy and let you know how it goes.

It’s a chilli sauce that can be used for anything really, chips, eggs, steak etc. I was thinking of making a pasta dish with it sometime this week.

Ingredients:

4 x red peppers

2 x red chillies (I added 3 coz we extra like that)

1 x garlic clove

Zest of 1 lime and 1 tablespoon of the lime juice

80 grams fresh coriander

2 – 3 teaspoons of salt

Method

The recipe calls for groundnut oil (125 ml) or any flavourless oil (vegetable, sunflower…) but I used olive oil because it’s all I had

Nigella’s recipe says to use 290 grams of roasted peppers from a jar which I could not find so I used fresh peppers and roasted them in the oven (150 degrees approx.) with olive oil, salt and pepper. As soon as the skin became wrinkly I removed them from the oven. Once the peppers are cooled down, remove the skins – this is pretty easy.

Red Pepper and Chilli Sauce Recipe
dav

Once done add the peppers and all the other ingredients in a blender or bowl if you using a hand blender and blitz. I used a blender and while blitzing I added the oil slowly until the texture was almost salsa-like but not as chunky. You can decide how you would like it.

The sauce is REALLY good; you can store it in the fridge for up to 1 week. Also a lovely gift idea.

Have a blessed day further!

Red Pepper and Chilli Sauce Recipe

 

Leave a comment