Why did the mushroom get invited to the party?

Coz he’s a FUNGI! (forgive me :-/)

It has been ridiculously cold guys, I don’t know anymore… global warming is real.

I was saying we don’t have autumn and spring anymore, its either crazy hot or freakishly cold. My windscreen was frozen the other day; my FIRST time!

I made mushroom soup last night, it was extremely good, hearty and flippin’ easy…

Soup is too easy to make and you can literally use any vegetable or a combination of vegetables. Claud always brags about my soup, he’s a health nut so enjoys his fruit and veggies (ssshhhh don’t mention the cream)

Ingredients:

  • 500 grams chopped mushrooms –any kind, I used a mixed mushrooms pack
  • 2 chopped leeks
  • 1 chilly (optional)
  • 1 diced onion
  • 2 diced cloves garlic or three or four, you know garlic is always welcome especially with mushrooms
  • 2 stalks of thyme
  • 500ml vegetable stock
  • ½ cup cream
  • Salt + pepper

As an accompaniment to the soup, I reserved some of the fried mushrooms, onions, leeks and garlic, put it between two slices of bread with grated Parmesan and grilled. Was nom nom nom x 10 000.

Parmesan is expensive but I bought it about a month and a half ago so it really lasts a long time which makes it worth it. I’m sure mozzarella will give you the same amount of yumminess but you know me trying to impress you guys!

Method:

In a pot heat, some oil and butter until the butter has melted.

Add onions, leeks, garlic and the chilli and fry until the onions are translucent.

Add mushrooms, and fry for about 10 – 12 minutes, mushrooms release quite a bit of moisture so they take some time.

You can then add the stock and thyme and simmer for about 10 – 15 minutes, stirring occasionally.

Transfer the mixture to a blender and blend until all is combined and there are no more mushroom bits.

If you prefer a chunky soup then you can blend half the mixture and leave some of the chopped mushrooms whole.

Once done, transfer back to the heat and add cream, salt and pepper. Allow the mixture to simmer for another 5 mins and you’re done!

Check the seasoning of the soup and adjust to your liking.

Serve with the mushroom and cheese sandwich. After this meal, their won’t be mushroom for anything else (OK I’m done with these lame jokes)

Mushroom Soup Vegetarian Recipe

PS: I only cook for 2 people but if you have a bigger family add more mushrooms, stock and cream.

PPS: If you know of a way to make this recipe even better, please let me know in the comments below.

Have a super dee duper weekend folks

x

2 thoughts on “Why did the mushroom get invited to the party?

Leave a comment