Too easy – Homemade pickled beetroot and homemade mayo

I was off sick all last week, I’m still in recovery mode but back at work grrr! Being home alone was pleasant as I got to rest which was LONG overdue.

I decided to throw together 2 simple condiments; firstly coz I ran out of my fav – Hellmans Mayo and secondly I had an excess of beetroot with no direction.

I first started with a beetroot pickle – I am a BIG lover of beetroot. This vegetable has sooo much nutritional value and to me is really one classic example of superfood; affordable, rich in Iron and Vitamins A & C, a great antioxidant and also very rich in fibre.

For the pickle, all you need is:

Cooked beetroot – I roasted about 5 beets in the oven at 200 degrees for about 40 mins or until you can put a toothpick through them.

  • 2 cups vinegar – apple cider vinegar is best
  • 1 cup sugar
  • Peppercorns
  • 1 tsp cinnamon

Cut up the beetroot into bite-sized pieces and place in a glass jar.

Bring all the ingredients except the beetroot to a simmer until the sugar has dissolved.

Pour the liquid over the beets and voila! Beetroot pickle is served.

20160623_162305

You can literally eat it with anything, I had it with my bacon and eggs, Sunday lunch, sandwiches – whatever your dear heart desires.

Next up some homemade mayo…

OMGoodness this is terribly easy to make – even easier with a stick blender – thank you, Rochelle!

Simply add 1 egg, 1 cup of oil, a teaspoon of mustard or the juice of 1/2 lemon (for the tangy – ness) and a pinch of salt. Then you blend that baby, it’s magic; in a few seconds (about 20) you will see mayo being created.

Homemade pickled Mayonnaise

I suggest you use a longish jar as the mayonnaise increases quite dramatically in volume. The mayonnaise will be good for a week and is very rich and creamy hmmm

You can add anything you like to the mayo, herbs, garlic, chilly – be creative. I added garlic of course!

Be sure when you lift the blender to switch it off when you get close to the top of the jar to avoid mayo rain all over yourself and the kitchen walls.

Chat soon x

 

Leave a comment